Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2021 – Our Picks and Previews




SUNDAY 9 MAY 2021, 1:30 PM – 2:30 PM



Held the week after Featherston Booktown each year, the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards celebrate the best of Aotearoa New Zealand writing and writers. Created in 1996 the Awards recognise the year’s best fiction, poetry, non-fiction, illustrated non-fiction and Māori language books.  There are also four Best First Book awards. Beginning with a long list of forty titles, the judges face the difficult task of pronouncing this country’s best books in each of the categories.

Join session chair Catriona Ferguson, writer and illustrator Gavin Bishop, poet Paula Green, and the New Zealand fiction buyer for Unity Wellington, Marion Castree. This will be an illuminating guide to your book-buying and reading list – and a handy short-cut to gift giving this year!

Proudly supported by the New Zealand Book Awards Trust

© 2021 Featherston Booktown Trust, New Zealand Charity Registration Number CC52369

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram